The Observer

Looking at all perspectives…

My First…and Most Unforgettable Handshake

The feeling was ecstatic. It was not a dream. It was real – very real. I have wished for it many times – and yes! I finally did. I shook the hands of the man himself – for the very first time. I shook hands with Brother Eli Soriano.

December 27, 2004 is one unforgettable date for me. After thanksgiving, I leaped from where I was sitting and began wandering throughout the Convention Center. “Who knows?” I said to myself. “Baka makita ko si Bro. Eli!” (I might see Bro. Eli!) While walking, I passed by several stalls and booths and looked cheerfully at the displays. Almost two or three hours had passed since the dismissal, but there were still a lot of people bound home. The assembly is really getting bigger.

After minutes of promenading, I noticed a small crowd gathered in front of a food stall. “Ano kaya ‘yun?” (What could that be?). I hurried my way, and as I got nearer to the spot, it became clearer to me what was causing the small “rally”. Bro. Eli, in a pink polo and white knee-length ‘puruntong’, was distributing “pancit” (stir-fried noodles) to the brethren.

Without second thoughts, I pushed myself into the crowd. Getting through was very difficult as more people poured in, not much for the “pancit”, but to see and speak with Bro. Eli even for just a few minutes. I could see brethren excitedly hugging him and taking pictures of him. Just like faithful Zaccheus who climbed a sycamore to see Jesus Christ, I made my way through the spaces until I could see the goal I was after. And I thought I will not be able to breathe again.

I waited until it was my turn to shake his hand. With a “Kumusta po, Bro. Eli?” I did it. It gave me so much joy I couldn’t help crying when I left. As I related the experience to my friends, they too felt happy and told me I was very lucky. I felt quite blessed knowing that I shook hands with whom I know is God-sent.

I have done a lot of handshakes before, but this one is different. From politicians to laymen, this particular handshake is a top-grosser. The feeling is unexplainable but extremely gratifying. Somehow, the experience comforted me, because it was not only the handshake that gave me a lingering impression. Bro. Eli possesses one of the most genuinely sweet and contagious smiles, which, I wonder, made me cry. For what I know, the kind of man he is who is attractive and prone to problems would not give an easy life for anyone. Someone in a similar situation will be wretched if racked with the kind of his troubles. Yet his gentleness is remarkably undisturbed, as if he was saying, “I’m okay. Don’t worry. God is good, and He’ll make everything alright.”

His smile maybe just an ordinary one for others, but its meaning is profound – one thing bound for the books. His gesture made me understand how a Christian should bravely face scourging times, yet always being thankful. Indeed, he is one tough man. God taught him so well.

That incident remains vivid in my mind. I don’t know if it will happen again, (short of saying ‘I hope it does’). Whatever happens, I’m sure to treasure the lesson I’ve seen and learned from that one little handshake – rejoice in tribulation, be glad in affliction. Nothing can stop the resolute Christian spirit.

One thing more – he has baby-soft hands – so soft they’re such envy for me. I wonder what his secret is.

Kudos, Bro. Eli! Glory unto God!

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on September 12, 2009 by in Inspire and tagged , .